# **CITY** OF **WOLVERHAMPTON** COUNCIL

# Meeting of the Council

Minutes - 13 September 2023

# **Attendance**

Mayor Cllr Dr Michael Hardacre (Lab)

**Deputy Mayor** Cllr Linda Leach (Lab)

#### Labour

Cllr Obaida Ahmed Cllr Val Evans Cllr Qaiser Azeem Cllr Jane Francis Cllr Mary Bateman Cllr Bhupinder Gakhal Cllr Philip Bateman MBE Cllr Sally Green Cllr Ciaran Brackenridge Cllr Celia Hibbert Cllr Greg Brackenridge Cllr Jeszemma Howl Cllr Paula Brookfield Cllr Carol Hyatt Cllr Chris Burden Cllr Jasbir Jaspal Cllr Jenny Cockayne Cllr Jaspreet Jaspal Cllr Craig Collingswood Cllr Milkinderpal Jaspal Cllr Jacqui Coogan Cllr Rashpal Kaur Cllr Lovinyer Daley Cllr Lamina Lloyd Cllr Claire Darke Cllr Barbara McGarrity QN

Cllr Jasbinder Dehar Cllr Louise Miles

Cllr Steve Evans

Cllr Rohit Mistry Cllr Anwen Muston Cllr Rita Potter Cllr John Reynolds Cllr Susan Roberts MBE Cllr Zee Russell Cllr Stephen Simkins

Cllr Harbinder Singh Cllr Tersaim Singh Cllr Paul Sweet

Cllr Jacqueline Sweetman

Cllr Igra Tahir Cllr Gillian Wildman

## Conservative

Cllr Simon Bennett Cllr Bob Maddox **Cllr Jonathan Crofts** Cllr Andrew McNeil Cllr Wendy Dalton Cllr Udey Singh Cllr Christopher Haynes Cllr Wendy Thompson Cllr Ellis Turrell Cllr Stephanie Haynes

Cllr Sohail Khan

**Employees** 

Tim Johnson Chief Executive Mark Taylor **Deputy Chief Executive David Pattison** Chief Operating Officer **Emma Bennett Executive Director of Families** 

Director of Strategy Charlotte Johns

Laura Phillips Deputy Director of People and Change

The proceedings opened with Prayers

Item No. Title

## 1 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Paul Appleby, Councillor Alan Butt, Councillor Asha Mattu and Councillor Paul Singh.

#### 2 Declarations of interest

There were no declarations of interest made.

# 3 Minutes of previous meeting

The Mayor proposed, the Deputy Mayor seconded, and it was resolved:

That the minutes of the previous meeting, held on 19 July 2023, be agreed as a correct record and signed accordingly by the Mayor.

#### 4 Election of the Leader of the Council

It was proposed by Councillor Steve Evans, seconded by Councillor Philip Bateman, that Councillor Stephen Simkins be elected as Leader of the Council on a four year term.

#### Resolved:

That Councillor Stephen Simkins be elected as Leader of the Council for a four year term till from September 2023 - May 2027.

### 5 Director of Children's Services Appointment

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Stephen Simkins, presented the report on Director of Children's Services Appointment for approval.

The report sought endorsement for a twelve month secondment for the appointment of the Director of Children's Services post.

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Stephen Simkins proposed the recommendation and the Cabinet Member for Children, Young People and Education, Councillor Chris Burden seconded the recommendation. They both placed on record their thanks to the Executive Director of Families, Emma Bennett for her service to the Council and delivering on key council priorities.

The report was debated by Council. Councillor Stephen Simkins replied to the debate

#### Resolved:

That the 12 months secondment appointment for the Director of Children's post with effect from 7 September 2023, as per the recommendation of the Special Appointments Committee held on 17 August 2023 be endorsed.